TRABEL PHOTOGUIDES :  Brussels    Bruges    Antwerp    Ghent

 

  BRUGES: The Brangwyn Museum
 
GENERAL
Bruges
History

SIGHTSEEING

Monuments
Museums
Tourist Attractions

USEFUL INFO
- City Map
- Hotels

- Transport Bruges
- Campings

EXTERNAL LINKS
- Trains
- Port of Zeebrugge
- Concert Hall

- Lace Centre
- College of Europe



Tourist Office
Burg 11
8000 Brugge

Tel. 050/44.86.86- fax 050/44.86.00

Email

 

The Arents House or Brangwyn Museum is a fine, late-18th-century townhouse located opposite the coach-house at the entrance to a picturesque garden.

The coach-house contains old carriages and sledges. The ground floor of the Arents House is home to the Lace Museum, with its extensive and varied collection of old needlepoint, bobbin and mixed lace.

Most of the exhibits were produced at Flemish lace-making centres like Bruges, Mechelen (Malines) and Brussels, but foreign lace from places like France and Venice also features in the collection.

A series of fascinating paintings illustrates the use of lace as a costume decoration over the years.
The first floor of the building is given over to the work of Frank Brangwyn (1867-1956), a versatile artist of British nationality, but born in Bruges. His Art Nouveau and Art Deco carpets, pottery and furniture are grouped thematically, as are his engravings, watercolours, drawings and paintings.

Location
Dijver, 16  -  8000 Brugge


 

 


© All texts and pictures Copyright Trabel.com and Arakea.com.
Their use is not permitted without prior agreement.
Design by T
he Manta