Art and History
information about entrance fees and opening hours of the museums, check out
this Brussels Museums Portal
museum is situated in the house where David and Alice van Buuren
lived. The museum exists since 1973.
In 1970, Mrsvan Buuren had established the "Friends of the Museum of David
and Alice van Buuren" society, to which she left by will the house, the
garden, the works of art as well as a substantial donation allowing the
society to take care of the legacy. During his life, Mr. David van Buuren,
who was a fervent collector of art, had turned his property into a living
The house itself was built in 1928. It was constructed in a typical Dutch
style and decorated by different Belgian, French and Dutch designer in a
very homogenous and harmonious style. In the different rooms of the house
(grand hall, dining room, living room, office, workshop) the visitor can
discover, guide by a professional historians, the 24 works of art that are
displayed here : rare and precious furniture, luxurious woodwork, signed
and, above all, beautiful paintings. All these works of art have remained at
their original place, thereby guaranteeing the intimacy of the visit. The
entire "art deco" setting in which the mecenas and his wife lived, has been
The collection of paintings ranks from the Middle-Ages until the modern era,
all centuries are represented. Among the old paintings there is a rare work
of art by J. Patenier (15th century) as well as a very luminous version of
the "Fall of Icarus" by Peter Brueghel the elder (16th century). From the
17th century : H. Seghers and P. Saenredem. From the 18th century: F.Guardi.
From the 19th century: Fantin-Latour and James Ensor. Among the modern
paintings are works by Foujita, van Dongen, Vincent van Gogh, Rik Wouters,
G. Desmet, Permeke and the most important collection of paintings by Gustave
van de Woestijne, the master of St.Martens Latem.
(Pictures reproduced with kind permission of
the Van Buuren Museum)
surface area of the garden never stops the amaze the visitor (1 hectare
200). One is immersed in greenery at only ten minutes away from the busy
city center. The gardens are an extension of the house in which they seem to
penetrate. There are three different parts. First, the "picturesque garden"
by Jules Buyssens (1924), a masterpiece of art deco design, it recalls the
spirit of the "roaring twenties". Second, the "Labyrinth" by René Pechère,
constructed in 1968. Its 300 elms lead to 7 rooms of greenery, illustrating
the "Song of Salomon". The last part of the garden is the "garden of the
heart" by René Pechère, built in 1969-1970. It brings a touch of romanticism
to the park.