TRABEL PHOTOGUIDES :  Brussels    Bruges    Antwerp    Ghent

 

  WATERLOO : The Wellington Museum
 
GENERAL
Waterloo (Home)
Info on Belgium

18 JUNE 1815
Preface of battle
The battle

MONUMENTS AND PICTURES

Wellington Museum
Le Caillou Museum
Lion Hill
Hougoumont farm
Haie Sainte farm
Visitor's Centre
Miscellaneous

EXTERNAL LINKS
Hotels Waterloo
Hotels Brussels
Trains


The Wellington Museum in WaterlooBefore the battle this house used to be an inn. The Duke of Wellington installed his headquarters in this building a few days before the battle took place. It has later been turned into a museum where visitors can see personal memories of Wellington and other heroes of the battle, uniforms, weapons and detailed maps of the battlefield. In a newly constructed side room, the evolution of the battle can be followed through illuminated maps.

Location: Chaussée de Bruxelles 147, 1410 Waterloo.

 


Click on the logo to go to the web site of the Wellington Museum
in Waterloo

The church and village of Waterloo in 1815. This drawing shows French canon being removed on 24 July 1815. Wellington's headquarters were in the inn on the left side of the drawing. It is now the Wellington Museum.

 


© All texts and pictures Copyright Trabel.com and Arakea.com.
Their use is not permitted without prior agreement.
Design by T
he Manta